Annual Report: Public Services Section

Goal 1: Recruitment, Membership and Leadership in the Profession

PSS promotes mentorship and leadership opportunities within MLA by sending welcome emails to each new member.

Elisa Cortez is the incoming chair elect and Todd Hannon is the nominee to the MLA Nominating Committee.

A survey is being developed to help align PSS activities and goals with member responsibilities and interests

Goal 2: Life Long Learning

PSS is sponsoring one contributed paper session at MLA 2013: Integrating Our Expertise: Engaging Our Partners in Resources at the Bench or at the Point of Care.

PSS is co-sponsoring two contributed paper sessions at MLA 2013: International Clinical Librarian Conference 1: Quality Assurance for Clinical Librarians, Informationists and Embedded Librarians; and, Librarians at Work: Building a One Health Perspective

Goal 3: Advocacy

One travel award was awarded to Kimberly Pullen to assist her in attending the 2012 MLA Annual Meeting.

Goal 4: Knowledge Creation and Communication

The Public Services Section supports members' use of advanced information technologies by sharing knowledge on expert searching by moderating the Expert Searching Listserv and the PSS listserv. The Expert Searching Listserv is very active with many messages posted discussing expert searching questions, techniques and issues.

- PSS: http://pss.mlanet.org/mailman/listinfo/pss pss.mlanet.org
- Expert Searching: http://pss.mlanet.org/mailman/listinfo/expertsearching pss.mlanet.org

Goal 5: Partnership

PSS partnered with other sections to co-sponsor two contributed paper sessions: ICLC and Veterinary Medical Libraries

Motion

This report is informational and requires no action by the Board of Directors.

Committee Personnel for 2012-2013

Chair: Dolores Zegar Judkins
Chair-elect: Kelly Thormodson
Past Chair: Kimberly Pullen
Section Council Representative Kimberly Pullen

Secretary/Treasurer:

Nominee to MLA Nominating Committee

Governmental Relations Committee Liaison:

Bylaws Committee Chair:

Membership Committee Chair:

Standards Committee Chair:

Web Site Editor:

Electronic Mailing List Coordinator

Elaine Dean

Roberta Bronson-Fitzpatrick

Nancy Tannery

Montie Dobbins

Aileen McCrillis

Pamela Bradigan

Janna Lawrence

Erika Sevetson

Submitted by Dolores Zegar Judkins, Chair